Call Us Today 888.828.7950  or  Request Pricing 

Laura

Laura

College Cap Orange Icon

Education
B.S. International Relations
& Spanish
St. Mary's university
Speech & Hearing Services
Leveling Program
Lamar University

Board Orange Icon

Experience & Credentials
Assistant Speech Pathologist
Phi Alpha Delta
Spanish Honor Society
8 Years Teaching Experience

Tutoring Subjects
Science: Elementary Science, Middle School Science, Math: Elementary Math, Middle School Math, Reading/ ELA: Elementary Reading, Middle School Reading, English I, English II, English III, English IV, AP English, Writing: Elementary Writing, Middle School Writing, High School Writing, History/ Social Sciences: Elementary History/ SS, Middle School History/ SS, High School History/ SS, AP History, Test Prep: STAAR
 
Bio: I love helping students learn and know that every student can learn with the right approach. I welcome the challenge in finding the best way to teach a student. As a child, my parents taught me the importance of education and therefore, I take teaching very seriously and always have the student’s success as my goal.  I completed my undergraduate degree in International Relations and Spanish. Upon graduating, I worked with survivors of human trafficking and later with survivors of domestic violence. I worked as an in-school tutor for a year, helping 4th graders prepare for the STAAR test. During my undergraduate coursework, I volunteered tutoring middle school students. I have also worked as a private tutor working with elementary aged students to college students.  In 2013, I decided that I wanted to be a Speech Language Pathologist. I completed a Speech and Hearing Sciences Leveling program at Lamar University, and I am currently licensed to work as a Speech Language Pathologist-Assistant. The goal is to apply to graduate school this fall to become a Speech Language Pathologist

Teaching Style: My teaching style is to learn the students’ strengths and weaknesses when it comes to learning.  This way I can use their strengths to help them learn. Since not all students learn the same way. I also like to know what students’ are interested in (superheroes, books, and etc.) this way I can incorporate the things they like, into their learning.

Summary of Prior Experience: I have worked with children in small groups and on an individual basis. I have had success in both, but it wasn’t easy. I had students that felt like they were never going to understand the material and they felt defeated. My goal at that point was to show them that they were capable, by building on their strengths and self-esteem. If a child believes in themselves and their ability to learn, this will make learning easier and enjoyable.

Enrichment Programs Also Taught: Grade levels 3-5; Grade levels 6-8; High school; Lego Robotics, Basic Engineering, Breadboards & Circuits; Inventing; Arduino; Python, Computer Programming; Green Energy; Crafty Circuitry; Magnets; Rube Goldberg Inventions; Prototyping, Mathematics, Building, Business, Website design, Demos, Toy/ Game Building, Exploratory building

 

Request Information About This Tutor

TUTORING LOCATIONS

POPULAR SUBJECTS

We Respect Your Privacy


Action Potential Learning, LLC

4301 W. William Cannon Dr. B-150 #313
Austin TX, 78749
888.828.7950

      

Copyright © 2016 Action Potential Learning, LLC